I Just Love This…

I just love the following “made-up” story.  I received it in an email so I’m taking no credit for it in any way!
Hope it puts a smile on your face as it did mine!
The Irish Euro Bailout.

It is a slow day in a damp little Irish town. The rain is beating down and the streets are deserted. Times are tough, everybody is in debt and everybody lives on credit.

On this particular day a rich German tourist is driving through the town, stops at the local hotel and lays a €100 note on the desk, telling the hotel owner he wants to inspect the rooms upstairs in order to pick one to spend the night. The owner gives him some keys and, as soon as the visitor has walked upstairs, the hotelier grabs the €100 note and runs next door to pay his debt to the butcher.

The butcher takes the €100 note and runs down the street to repay his debt to the pig farmer.

The pig farmer takes the €100 note and heads off to pay his bill at the supplier of feed and fuel.

The guy at the Farmers’ Co-op takes the €100 note and runs to pay his drinks bill at the pub.

The publican slips the money along to the local prostitute drinking at the bar, who has also been facing hard times and has had to offer him “services” on credit.

The hooker then rushes to the hotel and pays off her room bill to the hotel owner with the €100 note.

The hotel proprietor then places the €100 note back on the counter so the rich traveller will not suspect anything.

At that moment the traveller comes down the stairs, picks up the €100 note, states that the rooms are not satisfactory, pockets the money and leaves town. No one produced anything. No one earned anything.  However, the whole town is now out of debt and looking to the future with a lot more optimism.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how the bailout package works.

Simple!

If only life was so simple!  🙂

Later!!

15 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, funny

15 responses to “I Just Love This…

  1. Ha! I'm going to send this on to a few folks that I know will get a chuckle. Thanks, David.

  2. hee hee! I got sent this a litle while back – but it's still makes me smile!I used to work for the FT but I'm not sure this was the way financial 'arrangements' were carried out……but who knows, given our dire economy!

  3. Got a kick out of that. Going to let others enjoy it as well.

  4. Ha! This tickled my funny bone for sure. Thanks. 🙂

  5. LOL! That was quite amusing.

  6. Har! Such a simple formula. Mind you, math wasn't my strong suit either…

  7. Ha! I love this! I did not think it through to realize that everyone's debt was satisfied. Great post!

  8. Hee Hee Hee!! That's a really good explanation of a difficult economic situation — highly entertaining, too! Thanks for posting, David!

  9. Thanks guys. Thought it was worth sharing. Glad you enjoyed it!Nicole – Nice to see you. You've not about of late?

  10. That's great – love a cycnical good laugh.

  11. This is a wonderful thuoght/fable to put out into the world. It reminds me of a late night radio program I listened to once. A woman who had a doctorates degree in pyschology had written some kind of book about creating happiness . She said, that aruond the holidays, she set a certain amount of money aside. Say $100. She'd get it all in cash in $5 bills. Every time she went out to run an errand, she'd drop a $5 on the sidewalk for someone to find. She cliamed that the emotion of excitement & happiness the person who fuond it produced cuold start an avalanche of good thoughts and events for the community and possibly further.This story reminded me of that. Sorry for the long comment. Happy New Years, David!

  12. Ohmygosh… that was great! I had a chuckle. :)Thank you so much for the well wishes (on my blog)… I wish the same for you and your family!It's been a blast this year David! I love reading your blog and always look forward to your great comments on mine. You're a lovely man and don't let Randal tell you any different. (when he makes his grand return!)All the best!! Happy New Year!((Hugs))Laura

  13. Lily & Jodi – Thanks girls! Glad you liked it and Happy New Year!Laura – You make me blush! You're welcome and it's been a pleasure getting to know you. I'm glad you like my stories and any other stuff I post about. Happy New Year to you and your family as well!!

  14. There, see, it will be a Happy New Year for Everyone after all 🙂

Leave a comment