Story structure in Harry Potter: How Rowling became a billionaire by following the rules. (Pt I)

Well worth a read…..

Write Like Rowling

Photo by Ratta Pak @ 500px / CC BY 3.0

I know I haven’t written anything specifically about Rowling or her books for a while so I decided it was time to return to my blog roots with this post.

Rowling’s Harry Potter books were considered groundbreaking in many ways – their length for YA fiction, their depth of character, their intensely intricate plots and fantastic settings – but that’s only the icing on the cake. It was essentially because Rowling understood and followed some basic novel guidelines that the unique elements of her series were able to shine through.

Before I read the book Story Engineering by Larry Brooks, I thought that published authors were somehow above us mere mortals – like they lived on clouds filled with bottomless writing ideas and jumped from one to the next on their winged unicorns . . . or something. I thought that either you…

View original post 1,001 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Story structure in Harry Potter: How Rowling became a billionaire by following the rules. (Pt I)

  1. David! This is a very overdue thank you for linking to my blog! (I ended up taking a rather unexpected sabbatical over the summer, hence the delay.) Blogging can feel a bit thankless at times so it sure feels nice to get a hat tip like this. I hope your writing is going along splendidly!

Leave a Reply

