Updates.

Just a short post to get you up to date with my goings on.

I’m close to putting out an e-book of short stories.  Just doing some final edits and working on a cover with Caitlin Sagan.

My novel is still ongoing and will hopefully be getting close to some kind of conclusion within the next couple of months.

Other news is that I have parted company with The Flash Fiction Offensive.  It has been on my mind for a short time, as my own writing was suffering due to my spare time being taken up with the high number of submissions that the magazine got.  I like to think that was a good thing and the popularity of the mag was something I can be proud of.

ImageThere were other factors that made up my mind to move on but I left on good terms and it was my choice.  I’d like to thank Matt Louis, owner of the magazine and Out Of The Gutter, for giving me the opportunity just over 18 months ago.  It has been a great ride and I’ve learnt a great deal about editing and the experience has improved my own writing enormously.  I wish them and their new establishment the best of luck.

So, what now?  I plan on writing, writing and writing.  I’ll be blogging a bit more often, getting back into some of the routines that went by the way-side.  I will get back into editing one day.  I’ve already had one offer and I’ve also been toying with an idea of a new flash fiction magazine BUT that will be in the future.

In the meantime I’ve got a novel to finish and a few friends to catch up with and apologise for the lack of interaction over the past few months.  I’m hoping they’ll understand the reasons why.

Well, see you around.

39 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

39 responses to “Updates.

  1. Best of luck David – that writing, writing, writing can only pay dividends of one sort or another. Look forward to reading more.

  2. Best of luck.
    Now get to it.

  3. Sad this, but look after number one now, mate. Your talent deserves it.

  4. Looking forward to reading what you come up with.
    Those of us you edited at TFFO will always speak fondly of your legacy.

  5. Author

    Good luck with all the new ventures ahead of you, David.

  6. Looking forward to all the fruits of your labor now you have all this spare time!

  7. Editing’s loss is writing’s gain.

    Sad to see you part company with TFFO but impatient to read what you write.

  8. *HAPPY TRAILS* down all the written roads to conquer, oh bountiful Mr Barber. Growth be grabbin’ your guts (or is that ‘gust’?) and we all feel the change in the winds. HEY — That hot rumour true? You’re debuting *AT THE BIJOU* in “The Shadows of Our Noir” show?

    Damn. Readerfolk are about to get mighty lucky with how you’re prioritizing the prizing of your lifeways.

    ~ Fan and fanfare,
    ~ Absolutely*Kate, believing in believers and the shadows of noir

  9. Robin B.

    Time to roll – sounds like a great idea, so glad you’re havin’ at it!

    But let me also take this opportunity to give you my genuine thanks for having been there with FFO!

  10. Best of luck in the continuing endeavours!

  11. Allan watson

    All the best with the projects, David. Looking forward to seeing them. Thanks again for giving me a taste of the FFO.
    Allan

  12. You have given much of your free time to encouraging others in their writing pursuits and they will have benefitted from this.
    However, the price you pay is that it stifles your own progress so now it’s time for you to focus on your own work! I wish you well David.
    Go, get creative!

  13. Hey David,

    Sad to hear you are leaving FFO (you’ve had some great success with that), but I can’t imagine how time-consuming running an eZine is…just 13 days in October was enough for me.
    Also, things that get in the way of writing need to be closely looked at, besides the obvious important things like job, family, sleep – well, scratch that last one.

    Best of luck to you and finishing your novel.
    – Erin

    • Thanks, Erin. I enjoyed it immensely but it was time to move on. Appreciate your support. I’ll be about the blogs a bit more, too. I’ll be stopping by. Best to you and yours, Erin.

  14. Good to see you back in the swing of things. Look forward to your posts. Every success with the writing.

  15. I’ll play Pete and Repeat here. It’s a drag FFO is without you, but writing is a tough row to hoe with just a day job and family- don’t know how you did it all.

    It’s going to be good having big Dave Barber back blogging and writing for us on a regular basis.

  16. Pingback: My New Gig: The Flash Fiction Offensive | | Joe Clifford.comJoe Clifford.com

  17. Just caught up with your news, David. Sad to hear you are leaving TFFO but it looks like you enjoyed your time as editor and will now have much more time to concentrate on your own stuff. Looking forward to reading it as well, mate. Cheers.

  18. Court Merrigan

    Hey David – best of luck with the writing, sir. I will also remember your work at TFFO fondly – you took one of my first published crime stories! Thanks much and we’ll see you round the bend, eh?

    • Thanks, Court. Good luck with OOTG. I think it was time for a change. I think I’d taken the mag as far as I could and a change is as good as a rest, as they say. I’ll be dropping by and giving you guys my full support. You may even get a submission from me now my time has been freed up a bit. I’ll certainly see you round the bend…I’m already there.

  19. Best of luck in everything you do.

  20. Good luck with the writing, David, it takes up enough time even without editing for a magazine as well. And, thanks for accepting the stories I sent in.

Leave a Reply

