Mother Nature At Her Finest – Fodder For A Creative Mind.

I’ve been off work with a knackered elbow (injection I had last week hasn’t worked so far??) for a week up to now, and during that week the weather up here has been pretty rubbish.  It seems to have rained every day and, if you believe the meteorological buffs, it’s going to get worse thanks to tail end Hurricane Katia sweeping across the North of England and Scotland.  Yeah, we’ll see.

Anyhow, a few things caught my eye that make everything seem, well…better.  Bad weather doesn’t have to get you down in the dumps.  It can be inspiring and thought provoking.  As a writer, a walk down a country lane can conjure up all kinds of ideas.

The first 2 photos were taken last week.  I took my youngest for a walk after school.  It was quiet, apart from the sounds of birds and the river Earn.

A perfect ‘Shroom!
This path, “Lady Mary’s Walk,” goes for about 2 miles and comes out at the side of our house. It runs along the River Earn.

The following was taken this morning after dropping my daughters off at school.  It was one of the brightest rainbows I’ve seen in a long time.

In my mind, the best season’s of the year are just around the corner.  Autumn and Winter are upon us.  The colours are going to be fantastic.  The crisp, frosty mornings are going to be even better.  All in all, fodder for a creative mind!

Thanks for stopping by.

Later!

12 Comments

Filed under autumn, david barber, david barber's fiction world, fodder for a creative mind, mother nature, photos, seasons, winter

12 responses to “Mother Nature At Her Finest – Fodder For A Creative Mind.

  1. These are inspiring images. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Tremendous pics, and I'm with you on the upcoming Fall / Winter, although long stretches of never ending rain, do get me down in the dumps. You're in good company with walking to get inspiration. Stephen King does this, or at least he used to, before he got run over and almost died. So be careful out there. Hope the elbow sorts it self out.

  3. I'd love to try out that 'Lady Mary's Walk' – going 'stir-crazy' at the moment! (hoping the consultant let's the 'patient' be up and about this week, so we can go for walks!)Hope your elbow starts responding to treatment, but being able to explore the Scottish countryside is a small reward!Wonderful pic of the fungi, too – what is it?

  4. David, those are wonderful, and yes grand fodder.That's 'shroomie looks like it belongs in a story about the Fae and how I would love to try Lady Mary's Walk.

  5. David, this is a delightful page. Goes well with my first cup of tea.I hope your elbow feels better soon.Jeanette Cheezum

  6. Thanks guys. The mushroom is called Fly-Agaric. It's the one that's most associated with "Fairy Folk."Appreciate you looking.

  7. We're supposed to have record heat here today, but I can smell fall right on the doorstep. Can't wait!Keep the pictures coming, man.

  8. Gorgeous photos. I love the second one. Photos of paths and stairs are my favourites. You never know where they will lead you.

  9. Great photos David. I love walks for inspiration. And you've got a great little walk there.

  10. Thanks guys. Glad you liked them.

  11. Thanks for the pics. I miss having crosscountry footpaths like Mary's Walk. Just cries out for a stroll. I recall a pleasant summer in Scotland many years ago that came to a crashing end with rain, rain, rain. Glad you're able to deal with it. Gray skies make me literally depressed. I need the southern California sunshine big time.

Leave a Reply

