My Tribute to New York – Photo-Finish Friday.

It’s been too long, and I would love to return one day, but these photos were taken in January 1999.  The 5 night stay in New York was my 30th Birthday present from my wife, Lisa.  To this day, I’ve said it’s one of the cities I would love to have lived in.

On the weekend of the tragic 10th Anniversary, this is my tribute to a fine city that came together and fought back against one of the worst atrocities of modern times.

A spectacular sight!
-10 degrees didn’t stop us going up to the viewing platform and getting some of the best views of New York.
Awesome!
Peace, love and respect to New York City.  My thoughts are with you.
Photo-Finish Friday is the creation of Leah J. Utas.  Check out her blog, The Goat’s Lunch Pail.
12 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, leah j utas, new york, photo finish friday, tribute

12 responses to “My Tribute to New York – Photo-Finish Friday.

  1. Awesome photos, David. I agree with you about New York. It's a city that stays with you long after you've left. Many people will be thinking about NYC this week.

  2. Ben

    It's funny to see you guys shiver at minus ten. You should come to Montreal in January when it's minus forty and your eyelashes are freezing solid together

  3. Thanks guys. We have some great memories of that trip. We flew on my birthday, got upgraded to 1st class and it got better from there.

  4. I'm glad someone appreciates the Towers. So many said they were ugly. I grew up with them jutting into the skyline, and worked in Manhattan when they fell (I was home that day).

  5. Reb

    Beautiful tribute. Lovely photos.

  6. Very, very nice. And thank you, Dave. A wonderful tribute.

  7. Nice touch, Dave. A mystical city, I will visit one day… I crave it.My thoughts are constantly with all who suffered, especially this week.

  8. Jan

    A fitting tribute to a wondrous city.Your skill turns the simple into the sublime.My thoughts too are with those families who lost someone and with those that survived.

  9. gorgeous pics & wonderful tribute for today. One heck of birthday present too.

  10. Great tribute, bud … One day when you come back we can have a drink!

  11. Thanks for all the comments, guys. I will return one day. 9/11 affected all rational thinking people around the world. It was a sad day!

Leave a Reply

