Photo-Finish Friday….Where Does Time Go?

The follwing 2 photos were taken at the same place, almost six years apart.  We were stood in the square near the old cathederal in St Emilion, a beautiful little place about half an hour from Bordeaux, that boasts some of the finest wines in the world.

What a difference six years makes!

September 2005.  Imogen 18 months old.
July 2011.  Imogen 7 1/2, Melissa 5 ‘n’ a bit!
How did that happen?
Photo-Finish Friday is the creation of Leah J. Utas.  Please spend a bit of time checking out her blog.
Thanks!
19 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, leah j utas, photo finish friday, st emilion, where does time go

19 responses to “Photo-Finish Friday….Where Does Time Go?

  1. Time Flies when you have two awesome and gorgeous girls in yer life.

  2. What's more uncanny is that you don't seem to have aged, David! (shades of 'Dorian Gray' – I should check your attic for portraits!)Pretty little girls – no wonder you look so proud! πŸ™‚

  3. Those are great pics, David. I gotta say you look like a super fun dad. I hope I can live up to it with my little one.

  4. Gillian – Thanks. I have 3, but don't tell the wife. Her head's big enough and I have to keep her on her toes! Ha!Sue – Why thank you. A few extra pounds round the middle but hey, I'm 42 now. My secret – red wine and the wife's face cream! Don't tell her, she doesn't know I use it. πŸ™‚

  5. David – I put on a good front. I'm a tyrant and my kids and wife are terrified of me. Yeah, right!! Hahaha! My favourite quote of all time is one by Charlie Chaplin: "A day without laughter is a day wasted."I've not wasted a day for a long as I can remember and my family add to that every day! Thanks, mate!

  6. I don't buy that 'wife's face cream' malarkey – I still reckon there's a portrait gathering dust (and wrinkles) in your loft! ;-p

  7. Great pics, David. You have a beautiful family.

  8. That's a whole lotta love, dad. Great pics.

  9. You're obviously doing something right, David. Nice shot.

  10. Sue – I'll go and check. :-)Leah – Thank you.Ron – Cheers, Ron.Chris – It's all a learning curve, my friend. We tackle every day as they come. Thanks, mate.

  11. When you can't carry them you know you've gotten old πŸ™‚

  12. Sobering thought – just realised 'my' babies are exactly 20years older than each of yours……now who feels old?(of course, I was a child bride! ;-p)

  13. Thomas – I try my hardest to never let that show. I was telling my wife to hurry up taking the photo though. LOL!!Sue – The thing is, we've been married 18 years a week on Sunday and I've known Lisa for 31 years. Holy crap, that's a long time!! πŸ™‚

  14. Fantastic pics, David. Congratulations on your 18 years coming up and on 2 sweet girls. Looks like they are having fun…or that you paid them well for the photo! πŸ™‚

  15. Awesome pics, one in each arm, so cool!

  16. Paul – Ha! thanks, mate. Hope all is well with you and yours.Sean – Thanks, buddy. Long may it last. They grow up way too quick!

  17. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  18. You photoshopped the few strands of grey out, didn't you? And just think, in a few years, when you're a shrunken old man, your kids will have to carry you to the telly to watch footie. Go West Brom. πŸ™‚

  19. Randal – They'll have had enough out of me that I'mm gonna insist that they carry me to watch the footy! Hahahaha! West Brom??

Leave a Reply

