Happy Father’s Day!

As some of you may know, my father was ill before Christmas following a massive stroke.  Thanks to all the help from the excellent staff the Stroke Unit at Hope Hospital in Salford, Manchester he made a fantastic recovery.  All your well wishes were passed on too and I like to think that they played their part, thanks!!

His health has improved massively and he’s since passed a driving exam, allowing him back behind the wheel.  He also goes on a Norwegian Cruise next month, with my mum of course!

I wrote this for him after I had to return home from Manchester.  Some have read it before but it is Father’s Day!

For My Father

I needed to be with you. The family reassured me but I felt useless being so far away. I made the journey. Luckily the snow had begun to melt, making the drive less dangerous.

During the drive I thought about the great times we’d had together. I remembered I still have the gold chain you bought me for my twenty-first birthday.

Just to see you this weekend made me feel proud to be your son. I know you will be better soon, you are a fighter, and I’m looking forward to walking with you in the Spring.

I love you!

~End~

My dream came true.  I will walk with him in just a few short weeks!

Later!!

13 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, father's day

13 responses to “Happy Father’s Day!

  1. Happy father's day, David, to you and your dad. It looks like you had a very good role model when it comes to being a father. Glad your dad is doing so well.

  2. STUFF!!!!! &a great Father's Day to youse, too!!!

  3. Great post, David. Good news about your dad too. Hope you have a great day!

  4. As Laurita says, indeed. You are a very special man, David – no doubt that comes from your Dad. All best wishes to you and your lovely family.Lily/x

  5. I'm so glad to hear he's continuing to do better. And Happy Father's Day to both of you.

  6. Thanks to all of you. Much appreciated!

  7. I'm so happy for you that your Dad is feeling better. Aren't you lucky to have him in your life this Father's day. And I wish you a great celebration of your own fatherly skills!

  8. Happy Father's Day to you, David and to your father. Good to hear he is doing better, mate. Have a great day.

  9. Cathy & Paul – Thank you so much. You guys are great! I'll pass on the well wishes and accept the nice words about myself. Thank you!

  10. Beautiful post, David, and I am so happy that your father has had such a remarkable recovery. I hope you've had a wonderful day!

  11. Very touching, mate. I got a lump in me throat reading the last lines. Reminded me of how I feel (still) about my old man.Pass my regards on to your mum & dad. I hope they enjoy their cruise, and you enjoy that spring walk, mate.Best,Col

  12. Thanks everybody! Appreciate your kind words and will pass on all well wishes. I had a great Father's Day!

  13. Just like Mother's Day is celebrated to honor motherhood, Father's Day marks fatherhood to honor and commemorate our fathers and forefathers. It is a great time to let your father know you haven't forgotten him and also show him how much you value and respect him. It gives all kids an opportunity to thank and express gratitude to their fathers for all their support, love, affection and guidance throughout.

Leave a Reply

