Easter, A Spanner in The Works…A Sunday Poem

This one is a bit tongue-in-cheek so don’t be offended and start throwing holy water at me.  I’ve already had that treatment and it didn’t work.

A Spanner in The Works.

It’s always the first Sunday after
The full moon of the Spring Equinox
When they claim He rose from the dead
For they had no calendars nor clocks

In a cave he had lain, imprisoned
After such barbaric treatment
His horrific wounds miraculously healed
Without care or ointments

His resurrection is celebrated
On a different date each year
The church goers will worship
The rebirth of Christ with a tear

But let’s go back many years before
To a time of a donkey and a stable
And His parents journey to Bethlehem
Was it all really just a fable?

The birth of Christ is celebrated at Christmas
On the 25th of December
They certainly had no clocks or calendars then
So how do they remember?

So what is Easter really about?
And what are your thoughts
Don’t blame me for this
There’s always been a spanner in the works

~End~

As always, comments and feedback are more than appreciated.

Thanks and enjoy your Easter Eggs…what are they all about?  Ha!

8 Comments

Filed under a spanner in the works, david barber, david barber's fiction world, easter, easter eggs, poetry, tongue-in-cheek

8 responses to “Easter, A Spanner in The Works…A Sunday Poem

  1. Tee hee. I do enjoy your spanners.Like Christmas, Easter is another attempt to override pre-existing, more ancient celebrations such as Yule and Eostre/Ostara and the solstices and equinoxes – they can't fool us. 😉

  2. I had a feeling you'd like it, Lily. None of it makes sense to me to be honest, but if it makes people feel good then so be it. Have a great day with your family. x

  3. Well – I think you know that for me Christmas and Easter have a much deeper meaning!As to 'dates' – does it really matter? Not as far as I'm concerned – I'm more interested in what is being celebrated!Happy Easter, whatever you make of it 🙂

  4. I agree with Sue. It is the events that occurred that are important, not the dates on which they happened. But I don't see anything offensive about your poem. If we were never supposed to question anything, we wouldn't even be able to. I believe we were meant to ask.I agree about the Easter eggs. I'm not sure how they fit in, but I do know the grandkids love their peanut butter eggs and fun size chocolate bars and toys from the baskets. It's a happy day all around. Happy Easter to all, however and whatever you celebrate about it!

  5. Read just recently that the date of the first Easter has been determined to be April 1 (no joke) and should be observed each year on the first Sunday of April.

  6. Sue – Hope you've had a great day with your family! Thanks for popping over.Joyce – It would be a boring world if we never questioned things. My daughters got a load of goodies this morning. I set up an egg hunt round the garden. Don't know where the Easter Bunny fits into it all but the kids love it, as I did when I was young. Hope you have a great day with your family.Ron – That'd be about right. I read somewhere that Jesus was actually born in March, yet we celebrate His birth in December. Maybe Dan Brown knows the truth. Ha! Have a great day.

  7. As Christmas was a replacement for pagan winter equinox festivals, so Easter is a replacement for pagan spring rituals — the eggs, in fact, come directy from paganism. Can you tell I'm a non-believer? For an intriguing and beautifully lyrical look at the early development of Christianity through the eyes of a pagan woman, I highly recommend Kate Horsely's "The Pagan Nun." Any of Horsely's work is astounding, and she tends to explore feminist issues throughout history. "The Changeling," a story of gender identity during the Middle Ages, is especially thoughtful

  8. Actually, you should see how they celebrate it down here in Mexico–a highly catholic country. It makes so sense to me but they love to carry huge crosses down the street and hold up traffic. The Holy Week (Semana Santa) doesn't seem to deter violence either.

Leave a comment