Stuff…..

First off, I missed Photo-Finish Friday so I’ll post a Snap-Shot Sunday.  I took this the other morning on the way to work.  The loch was perfectly still.  If I had to name it I would simply call it Reflections

Photo-Finish Friday is the creation of Leah J. Utas.

Secondly, I have a link on my blog for Lily Childs’ February Femmes Fatales.  I’ve updated the link so that it now takes you to the permanent page she has set up.  There’s some stunning work on there so make sure you have a nosey.  And a big congrats to Lily for running such a wonderful month of writing!

Thirdly, I missed out on a few challenges this past few weeks due to work commitments, my work on The Flash Fiction Offensive and have relatives here for 2 weeks.  Hopefully I can get my writing back to normal and finish up some WIP’s. 

One I missed out on is Chris Allinotte’s Madness In March.  Keep an eye on his site for what I’m sure is going to be fantastic!  Click here for more details.

Fourth.  Don’t know if you may have noticed but I got my 100th follower today.  18 months on the blogosphere has gone pretty fast.  I’ve met a lot of great people in that time and learnt a lot about writing in general.  Thanks to each and every one of you who’ve stopped by and thanks to Harry B. Sanderford for putting me into triple figures.  It’s a great community to be part of!

I suppose I’ll have to come up with some kind of comp/give away.  We’ll see!

Lastly, a quick joke I thought I’d share with you that made me chuckle.  It was sent to me by email.

An elderly couple are attending church services.

About halfway through, she writes a note and hands it to her husband.

It says, “I just let out a silent fart. What do you think I should do?”

He scribbles back, “Put a new battery in your hearing aid.”

Later peeps!!

11 Comments

Filed under chris allinotte, david barber, david barber's fiction world, harry b sanderford, leah j utas, lily childs, photo finish friday, snap-shot sunday

11 responses to “Stuff…..

  1. Big chuckles over the joke.

  2. Great photo. What is the name of the town across the water? A shot of my way to work would be concrete, freeway signs and brake lights…Here's to the next 100!

  3. The photo puts me in mind of a lot of the landscape here on the island. Bit of a moonscape. Cute joke…thought must admit I had to think about it for a second or two!

  4. David – Thanks, mate.Ron – Thank you. The "town" is actually a caravan site. Isn't it in a fantastic spot? When I was in Manchester I had a similar drive to work as you have. I love it up here now!Alan – A lot of the landscape up here is exactly like what you have over there. Canada is a place I will visit one day.

  5. OK. I gotz a joke for you…A very snobbish, presumptuous City Fellow goes to a bar in Northern Wisconsin and asks for "your very best single Malt Scotch". Well there isn't a big demand up in the woods for such libation, but the barkeep knows he has one, somewhere. After much searching he gives up and pours the guy a two year old single malt, thinking he will not know the difference. The City fellow takes one sip,spits it out, and says,"that is only TWO YEAR old… now GIVE ME what I ORDERED!" Well, the Barman looks a bit, finds a six year old malt and thinks that will do. One sip, one spit and the city Fellow is enraged…" Distinctly, SIR I ordered A TWELVE YEAR OLD Scotch…if this VILE beverage is a day over SIX I would be astonished!" Well the Owner goes in search for the elusive bottle, but in the meantime an old logger who had been at the end of the bar comes to the City Dude with a glass and says, "Try this."Well, the snob takes one sip, spits it out and says, "Why that is PISS!" …. and the logger says, (are you ready).."Ya, but how old am I?"

  6. Jim – That's great! Haha!!

  7. Tee-hee-hee re' the jokes!Dave,Nice to hear your update. Love the pic – we must visit you again this year, get away from all these bloody bricks n fumes. :(Congrats on your 100 followers (there may be more, as some people follow anonymously).Speak soon, mate.

  8. Gorgeous photo, David. I'd love to sit by it all day.

  9. You always manage to get some great photos, this on included. Congrats on the 100 follower milestone, and I'm glad that I am part of it.

  10. Col – You know you're more than welcome. Thanks, mate.Leah – Thanks you!Sean – Thanks, dude! The photo was actually taken on my iPhone. I'm glad that you're part of it!

  11. hey… just saying… but I USED to have over 200 followers…. but, see, I took a left in the alleyway behind the bank, then a sharp right through the back door of the Deli and then quickly skittered through the kitchen and out the front door. Then I put on strange glasses and a funny hat. I think I lost most of them.There might be a few CIA guys still looking…. but I will deal with them as I can. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

