Your Favourite Christmas Song…..

First off, thanks to all who sent their well wishes for my father.  The fantastic news is he’s making a tremendous recovery, so much so that the consultants and doctors are allowing him home…..for good!  Christmas has come early!  I may be 250 miles away but to know that he’ll be with his family on the best day of the year is awesome news.  Thanks again!

Right.  I love Christmas and always have done.  Childhood memories are still clear in my mind and I hope that my daughters will have the same.  The house is decorated inside and out (We used to do it before we had the kids!), the snow is here for a good while yet and the Christmas music is in full flow.

The following are my personal favourite Christmas songs.  Wallow in them and let us know what your favourites are……..If you’re not all “Bah-humbug!!”

Greg Lake – I Believe In Father Christmas.
The Pogues & Kirsty McColl – Fairytale Of New York.
Two awesome Christmas songs in my opinion……….Later!
15 Comments

Filed under a christmas mistake, christmas songs, david barber, david barber's fiction world, greg lake, kirsty mccoll, the pogues

15 responses to “Your Favourite Christmas Song…..

  1. King Diamond's No Presents For Christmas, duh. 🙂

  2. Great songs, Dave.My second favorite is John Lennon's Happy X-Mas (War Is Over). My number one will be posted on the 25th.

  3. Randal – Bah-Humbug!! I'm going to start calling you Randal Grinch! Ha! :-)David – Yes, Lennon's was a classic, unlike that fruitcake wife of his. I've got to say, I honestly don't think there's a Christmas song I don't like! Have a great one!

  4. great news about your father!My family was often hit by bad things during winter holidays, so I understand the state your family is in now.My favourite Christmas song is WONDERFUL DREAM by late Melanie Thorton.

  5. The Pogues is my 2nd fabourire Xmas song. This is my 1st:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xObshE1D-OM

  6. I like the Greg Lake one, too! That takes me back a bit…..Really pleased about your Dad, David! Like you say, a good start to your Christmas celebrations! My Christmas came early today, too – my 'early retirement' application was granted – woohoo, I shall be a 'pensioner' in the New Year! ;-p

  7. Dezz – Thanks mate. I'll check that track out.Paul – I like that. Not heard it before. She's a bit of a looker as well!! :-)Sue – Weyhey!!!! Happy retirement, young "pensioner" lady! HA! Enjoy. You'll rattle a novel off in no time now. Thanks about my dad. He's a strong old dude. I'm made up, and for you!!

  8. The Chipmunks Christmas Song."…I still want a HULA HOOP…":-)So happy about your father.

  9. I'd have said the Pogues – but you beat me to that one. For me, I love to hear Bing's "White Christmas" at least once during the season, but for other "contemporary" tunes, I'll take Bing and Bowie's Little Drummer Boy.

  10. Rebecca – Ha! Thanks, for your wishes for my dad.Chris – White Christmas is a classic. I watched the film the other day. With you on Bing and Bowie. Ther are so many great Christmas tunes!

  11. I'm not sure how it goes over there but here in Canada, Christmas tunes start in October so I've kinda had it. Those are two great songs you've picked out though. :)Merry Christmas David!!! All the best to you and yours…((Hugs))Laura

  12. Laura – Thanks. Yes, its pretty much the same over here, especially in the shops etc. Radio start playing them late November onwards. Have a great Christmas yourself and all the very best to you and your family for 2011!!

  13. Lou Rawls….http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAQUmFMy37I…. I am just schmaltzy…. great about your dad…. happy happy

  14. Hi Dave,Nice picks. I'll have to be boring 'n' choose 'Silent Night'. I have a soft spot too for 'White Christmas.' For a more contemporary tune, I'd pick your second.Great news about yer Dad.

  15. I'd have to agree with Laura…you get so much of Christmas in the shops here from early October you just kinda want it over by now (bah).Fantastic news about your dad, my friend! Early Christmas prezzy for sure.Favourite songs? I like a good 'Oh Holy Night' but the 'Little Drummer Boy' by Bowie and Bing Crosby was great. Your Pogues selection was perfect.Merry Christmas to you and yours, David.

Leave a Reply

