The Joy Of Sleep…..For Children

I lay with my eldest daughter tonight. My wife and I normally read our girls a couple of stories before bedtime, but my eldest wanted to listen to an audio book. OK, I thought, I’ll just close my eyes (as I was told to do) and enjoy.

Now, here’s the thing. My eldest, who is six, has a “cusky”. It’s a rag comforter. She also sucks her left index and middle finger when she’s tired. So she starts nodding off and I decide to watch her. Her little fingers are in her mouth while the fingers of her other hand are using one of the comforter rag ends to draw circles on her cheek. Suddenly the two fingers that are not in her mouth start “reeling in” the rag end and it disappears under her quilt. This all happened while she was asleep. It killed me not to laugh out loud, but it was cuteness beyond belief!

On the other hand, my youngest is four and she still has a dummy (pacifier). I asked her one night why she still needs one. Her answer: “I just like this,” and flicked the plastic ring up and down against the plate. The tiny click is her little “comforter”.

How cool it is to be a child! Not a care in the world. The most important thing for them at bedtime is a piece of rag or the gentle click of plastic.

Little do they know that when they get older, the most important thing at bedtime is to make sure you’ve been to the toilet, don’t drink too much water before bed and then don’t ask yourself have you locked the front door, because you will not get to sleep (as hard as you try) until you’ve crept downstairs and checked……….that you actually have!

Here’s to another troubled nights sleep!

15 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, i love my kids, sleep

15 responses to “The Joy Of Sleep…..For Children

  1. Little do they know that when they get older, the most important thing at bedtime is to make sure you’ve been to the toilet, don’t drink too much water before bed and then don’t ask yourself have you locked the front door, because you will not get to sleep (as hard as you try) until you’ve crept downstairs and checked……….that you actually have!LOL! Oh, goodness, is this true.Lovely stories, especially the first one! You almost made me want to have a child there for a moment. Just one moment. 🙂

  2. R.s. – The best thing that ever happened to me!! This happenes most nights of the week. I just thought I'd post about it tonight. Take care!

  3. You are such a good dad.. very touching moments you can cherish..thanks for sharing with us childless. wonks..

  4. Dave- thanks for re-kindling such good memories I also have of my two, who are now 10 and 13. My daughter's "blanky" ended up being a tiny piece of cloth when she was done with it. We saved it. The good times and memories have continued through the years, even if in different forms. I was real f@&k up before I had them, but they have magical powers. Besides the doors, I am now in charge of turning off the Christmas lights at night, which is a real pain in the…

  5. Aaaahhh – bless 'em! Make the most of it David – before you know it they'll be grown and gone!I used to love looking in on the children when they were small, seeing them oblivious to the world and so relaxed. The girl was always tucked up safely in her bed with the duvet snuggled round her. The boy was invariable NOT in bed but had dragged his duvet to some other part of his room and made a 'nest'!!!They'll both be home for Christmas – but as they're 26 and 24 respectively, I think I'll avoid looking in on them before I turn in!!! 🙂

  6. Spent the first year of my son's life jumping up several times during the night to check the doors and him. When my daughter came I did the same, now I work at night and can't help but worry about them as I go about my job.

  7. All things I have to look forward too. (Though, I do the double check of the doors most nights.)

  8. That's so sweet. These are the little things you want to remember. I always find that when I get angry at them for something, I feel terrible when I check on them at night. They look so sweet in their sleep.

  9. I haven't had a full nights sleep in six years (6 yr-old boy, and two 4 yr-old girls)I purposely leave the front door unlocked, hoping the boogie man will come in and scare those little sh*ts back in their room!Cheers!

  10. Awww. Aren't kids the best? Especially when they're sleeping! ;pJoe and Tony, my oldest 2, both ran around with bottles until they were far too old. I would let them go to bed with them and then of course, paid for that with about a billion cavities when they were around 5 or 6.Gabby sucked her fingers (I even have an ultrasound picture of her doing it at 19 weeks).. until she was 5. Our regular dentist was off and her fill in informed Gabs that if she didn't stop immediately, they would have to break her jaw and reset it when she got older. I was furious!!! She did stop but every so often, I still see her sneak in a quick finger suck. ;pAnd Massimo used the dummy and a blanket. I can't remember how old he was when he stopped but we called them his sucky baby and sucky blankie. :)The two little ones still like to fall asleep with me at night. It's nice to snuggle with them. :)((Hugs))Laura

  11. Erin- That was hilariuos! My kids still want their closet shut and sometimes I'll look in and say "Goodnight Boogeyman". Sends them through the roof.

  12. Hey, thanks guys n gals! Appreciate you reading my random thoughts. Erin – Funny, funny, funny!!! They'll get you back when they're older though! 🙂

  13. Great little bit of life you have in this post, David… Very sweet!

  14. That was nice! My daughter still has a six inch square left of her baby blanket….21 years later….. uses it as her book marker. When she reads, she rubs hr cheek with the fragment. And if she knew I told anyone…. she would kill me!! Nice write.

  15. Thanks for reading my ramblings!!

Leave a Reply

