The Sacrifice…..

Just a short one to get back into the swing of things after a hectic weekend, a daughter with a temperature and sickness and British Telecoms inability to sort out a “technical” problem…..again!!

Anyway, Lily Child’s Friday Prediction was a bit tricky last week.  Her words were: Fellowship, Rain Forest & Goat.  100 words max.  What follows is my effort.  I cheated ever so slightly, but it made me laugh…

The Sacrifice.

“It’s just the rain, Forest.”

“But, Forest not like it. Momma said, life was like…..”

“Fuck! Look, if you want to join the Fellowship, you’re going to have to go out there and sacrifice the goat.”

Forest looked at the man and then out of the window, at the animal chained to a post.

“Forest want to join. Give me knife.”

He took the knife and walked out into the rain. The animal bucked and squealed as Forest slit its throat and began smearing blood all over his face.

“Bet his mum didn’t see that in her box of chocolates.”

~End~

Why not give Lily’s Friday Prediction a go.  It’s good fun and great brain exercise.  Oh, and it’s on a Friday….. Hahahaha!  🙂

13 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, forest gump, friday prediction, horror, humour, lily childs, the sacrifice

13 responses to “The Sacrifice…..

  1. Got a chuckle outta that last line.

  2. Cool short and thanks for the heads up on Lily's Friday Prediction. I like prompts and challenges with deadlines. I thnk they sharpen the thought / writing process.

  3. Yeah, it made me laugh too! David – are you the Milk Tray Man?

  4. David – Thanks mate.Sean – Thanks mate. It's a great bit of fun to get the brain firing up.Lily – Friday Prediction is great! Milk Tray man?? Do you mean the profile photos??

  5. That was a short, tasty bit David. Good usage or 'rain forest' by the way…

  6. hahahahahahahahaha! Liked Lil's comment about the Milk Tray Man 😉 I think you should prove that Dave – could have the wimmen-folk weak-kneed!!! ;-p

  7. Alan – Thank you, sir! I couldn't resist. ;-)Sue – Thanks. I'd disappoint, honestly. My back and knees would give in. Hahaha!!

  8. lmao, I know I'm not a smart man, but I know what funny is.

  9. Lee – Thanks mate. I somehow thought you'd appreciate it. :-)I am aware that the Forrest that is Gump has 2 'rr's in it but I just couldn't resist. I wanted to stay true to Lily's words and that's why I said I cheated ever so slightly. 🙂

  10. I love the view. How could you ever have moved away from that?

  11. DSL – Nice to see you and thanks for the comment!

  12. Clever and inventive, David…

  13. Anthony – Thanks, dude. I had fun writing it!

Leave a Reply

