One Wish…..

ONE WISH.

“If you had one wish, what would you wish for?”

It was a question that, for some reason, she was always asked.  As if people were compelled to ask it as soon as they struck up a conversation with her.

“Well? Come on, what would it be?”

“You don’t really want to know,” she said.

“I do, I do. You know what I’d wish for? I rich man’s lifestyle: money, fast cars and big houses. The whole shebang.”

A vision flashed into her mind. A mangled red car wrapped around a tree. The dead occupant slumped against the steering wheel, its decapitated head barely visible on the dashboard through the broken windscreen.

“Well, what would you wish for?”

She studied the man asking the question, his kind face smiling as he waited for the answer.

“I’d wish that I couldn’t see into the future.”

-END-

You know the drill………

12 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, micro fiction, one wish

12 responses to “One Wish…..

  1. Ooooohh, excellent twist.

  2. Ouch! I am thinking he would be better off asking for the Lotto results. Good job, David!

  3. Wow! Stunner, David!

  4. What can I say but excellent!

  5. Little DEAD ZONE happening.

  6. G

    David stole my comment. 😀sighFascinating little twist.

  7. Thanks a million, peeps!

  8. This comment has been removed by the author.

  9. Col – It's all experimental at the moment. really trying to give my brain some serious exercise before I kick my novel off again. Thanks for the encouragement though.

  10. (Damn typos – I'll try again).Bloody'ell, Dave! Top notch this.I'm so glad you've submitted these flash pieces to TKnC. They'd look good in anthologies, n deserve a bigger readership, mate.

Leave a Reply

