Friday Flash Fiction #33…I Saw What I Saw.

Friday Flash Fiction time again folks.  Thanks to Cormac Brown for hosting this weekly challenge.

This weeks chosen starter sentence was mine and my story follows.

The starter sentence is in blue.  Hope you enjoy, as I’m trying something a little different from my usual offerings.

I Saw What I Saw...

It was a shortcut that I would regret for the rest of my life. Don’t get me wrong, the scenery was beautiful. A rolling landscape, secluded country houses and wildlife in abundance. But, the beauty soon faded into insignificance when a sheep, covered in blood, ran out in front of me, causing me to swerve my car off the single track road and crash into a dry-stone wall.

I’d approached a wooded area and was doing about fifty when I saw the sheep but managed to brake and reduce my speed before the impact. My airbag had activated and saved me from any serious damage. After a moment or two, and a couple of prayers of thanks for still being alive, I pushed open my door, unfastened my seat belt and got out of my car. I closed the door and lent heavily against the car, taking in painful, deep breaths. I scanned the area for the sheep that I had seen, but it was nowhere in sight.

I definitely saw what I saw.

I eased myself away from the car and assessed the damage to the front of it. It was going nowhere. There was steam hissing from the radiator and a steady drip of black oil form underneath. I fished my mobile phone from my pocket. There was no signal. Great!

A sudden shriek startled me. It came from the direction the sheep had run from.

Another one, louder this time and closer, followed by another.

What the fuck is that?

My thoughts were almost answered when a dozen or more sheep ran from over the small grassy mound and across the road, exactly where the sheep that had caused my crash had come from. Each and every one of them was smeared with dark, crimson blood.

I looked round and the only way I could go was in the same direction as the sheep, into the woodlands. I started to run, the pains in my chest from my seatbelt easing as I took in large breaths. Above there was a cracking of tree limbs and just feet in front of me, the lower half of a human body landed with a thud.

Holy…shit!

I carried on running, glancing down at the naked limbs, noticing that they were female.

What the fuck is going on?

Another shriek followed by a muffled scream. I ran harder, the ground undulating beneath my feet. The sheep had spread out but were heading in the same direction.

Ahead, I saw a stream. I noticed a small bridge off to my left and made a run for it. I jumped down into the stream, just as another body part landed on a patch of heather at the side of the stream. I splashed through the water and got to the bridge, scrambling underneath it. I was struggling to control my breathing; my whole body felt like it was shaking.

Another shriek.

I turned under the bridge, and keeping close to the stone wall I peeked out in the direction of the noise. I had imagined seeing some kind of bizarre bird like creature, but there was nothing. Then out of the woods came a naked man. His whole body was covered in blood and in one of his hands there was a human arm. His head twitched from side to side, unnatural in its movements.

Oh fuck.

I looked out again, in time to see his mouth open and an ear splitting shriek ripped through the air. I put my hands over my ears, the sound almost painful.

Got to move, got to move.

The man walked to the edge on the stream, the bloodied arm still in his hand. I slowly walked the eight feet or so under the bridge and crawled up the heather laden bank. I inched up to the top of the stonework and looked back to where the man was stood. To my amazement there were now two of them. I don’t just mean two men; I mean there were two of them. There was two of the same fucking bloke. In unison their mouths opened and let out an ear splitting shriek.

What the fuck is happening?

Fuck it! I scrambled to my feet and ran. I had no idea where I was going but I ran. I ran harder than I had ever run in my entire life. I looked back over my shoulder and saw that the two men were walking in my direction. There was no urgency to their movements, which I felt wasn’t quite right. It was only when I looked back in the direction that I was running that I realised why. A few hundred yards ahead of me there was a man running across a field to my left. He was being chased by two naked men. Within seconds they were on top of him and his limbs were ripped from his body. His screams of pain and terror were instantly drowned out by the shrieks let out by his captors.

This just can’t be happening.

I turned to my right, jumped into the stream, ran through it and staggered my up the other side. I got my footing again and ran and ran and ran.

* * * * *
I’ve now been hiding in this elevated position, behind a moss covered rock for what seems like an eternity. The shrieks are still echoing in the distance. They still seem to be coming from the area below me. I’m safe for now, but for how long? I don’t know if I’ll ever get out of here. It feels like I’m in the middle of nowhere. Everywhere I look there are fields and woodlands and hills and in the distance, mountains. God’s country? Heaven on earth? Not on this day. Heaven can’t be like this. Well, maybe I’ll know soon…..

What was that? Oh, dear God. Please…no. Our, Father who art in Heaven, hallowed be thy n….

END.

You know the drill.  Whether you liked it or not, please leave a comment.  All comments/advice are more than welcome…

23 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, friday flash fiction, horror, i saw what i saw

23 responses to “Friday Flash Fiction #33…I Saw What I Saw.

  1. :-0Creepy one, David! Liked the ending – but I really want to know why the men were the same? And why they were ripping people to bits…perhaps a follow-on story, eh?

  2. Sue – It's one of those "what if" scenarios. I took a shortcut to a job recently and it was a single track road. There were sheep everywhere. I got to a point on the road and there were about fiv or six blokes stood in this field and a helicoptor had just landed. Hence the story. I may do a follow-up or even a prequel. Glad you liked it though.

  3. I'll agree with Sue here. It was definately spooky and nicely descibed. It left some unanswered questions. I don't mind the open ending, but it would be nice to know why there's two of them. Clones? A sequel please…

  4. A nice slice of spooky country life. I could imagine this as it went along (after all, I lived in areas like this!) Look forward to seeing more to this if it eventuates. Great work, David.

  5. Nothing creepier than odd goings-on in the middle of nowhere… I liked it… and the open ending

  6. Great bit of horror in the morning, nice work Dave.

  7. Thanks for the comments guys. I'm working on another story to go with this one. As I was writing it I didn't really know where it was going (As is the case with most of my stories) and just let the story take me. After reading your comments a few ideas came to mind. Thanks and glad you all liked it.

  8. Very creepy and spooky! And thanks, David, for the tricky little starter sentence. I really felt like I had to have a disciplined narrative to go along with it.

  9. Reads like a dreamlike horror sequence. Keep going. Freewriting is amazing. It always leads to good things. Constraint is the enemy when creating. It's easier to edit and re-work than have nothing.Can't wait to see what you come up with.

  10. Thanks to you I'm going to be totally freaked out if I ever see a sheep cross the road while I'm driving.

  11. Ok you've really got to answer the questions – who's cloning the rabid zombies and why?! Classic horror in the making …Regards,Lewis

  12. Sorry I'm late David but like everyone said this was an excellent horror story and I WANT MORE!

  13. I'm with the rest — enjoyed it — and I'm a zombie fan, so this was quite entertaining. Loved the opening!

  14. David! This is GREAT! Feed me more stories like this!

  15. Flannery, JC, Welles, Lewis, Cormac, Beach, Chad & Nicole – Thanks very much. I enjoyed writing this and I'm writing another piece to go with it. Will post it here soon. Thanks again.

  16. G

    Okay, I finally got a chance to really read it as its been sitting in my reader unread for the past couple of days.Gross and nasty beyond all imagination.Job well done. That kind of stuff I can handle.

  17. Thanks G. Glad you liked it and good to have you about. 🙂

  18. It's gotta be good when body parts are flying through the air! Nice pacing. Cheers, David.

  19. Thanks for stopping by, Glenn. Glad you enjoyed it.

  20. Well done. Old school Pan book of Horor stories stuff.

  21. As creepy as it was, it made me want more story. I want to know where, why, how, if … very intrigued.

  22. Thanks, Paul. Enjoyed knocking it together.Ron-Watch this space. There'll be a follow up soon. Thanks, mate.

Leave a Reply

