Manchester…

As some of you will know, I was back down in Manchester last week for my dad’s 70th birthday celebrations.  A great time was had by all and a few tears were shed.  It was absolutely fantastic to have all the family together for food and drinks.  My dad had a ball.  Thanks to everyone who left birthday wishes on my last post.  πŸ˜‰

Whilst I was there I had arranged to meet a great friend of mine, and fellow writer, Col Bury.  We met in a good old English pub and had a good old drunken chinwag.  We chewed the fat about this and that, mostly about writing, ambitions and works in progress.  We also spoke about school days, as I went to the same high school as Col and he was in the same class as my wife Lisa.  May I just add that they were in the year above me and NO, Lisa isn’t the only girlfriend I’ve had.  Although she is my soulmate and the first girl I ever kissed.

Anyway, I digress.  It was from a mutual friend years ago that we found out that we were both into writing and decided that we should get together to discuss things.  So we went to our first writing circle together, well I say circle but come to think of it, it was more of a line…no, hang on it was just a twosome and involved a snooker table and copious amounts of alcohol.  No, we didn’t take each other over the snooker table.  We played snooker, talked bollocks and drank. 

(That’s an old photo, we both forgot camera’s but we still had the same clothes on.)

Col seemed to go from strength to strength with his writing while mine was very spasmodic and stories were half finished etc etc.  The inevitable happened and kids came along, for both of us.  My writing just stopped, but Col carried on with his and then through a mutual friend of Matt Hilton’s, he got to know Matt and he became co-editor of Thrillers, Killers ‘n’ Chillers, a site that a lot of you are more than aware of.  He is now well into writing a crime novel but as with all of us, he is also in full time employment and doesn’t get the time at the keyboard that he wants to.  He has just had a short story published at A Twist Of Noir called A Public Service and has also had a guest write over at Paul D Brazill’s excellent blog.

Please, do yourselves a favour and go and check Col’s blog out.  He has some great short stories on there as well as some author interviews and a photo of himself with a lazer blue shirt on, when he quite clearly would look better in red.  πŸ™‚

Remember Col…the hand of bob.  (In joke for those wondering)  And also a sincere thanks for getting me back into this writing lark.  Respect.

Col blogs here.

24 Comments

Filed under col bury, david barber, david barber's fiction world

24 responses to “Manchester…

  1. A successful and pleasurable trip is always fun to write about. Glad you had a memorable time.

  2. Dave, it was an absolute pleasure to see you again and many thanks for the kind words and links above.It doesn't seem like five minutes ago when you were lost in the wilderness (not in Scotland – writing-wise), but now you've hit the blogosphere running and have some damn fine writing out there, an excellent blog and you've made many good friends around the world who are clearly supporting you and spurring you on.Then you go n spoil it by knowing full well that my inquisitive mind was bound to click on the red link above – shock horror… Man U appeared on my computer screen for the first time ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Ps. Dave told me he didn't like exclamation marks!!!!!Pps. If anyone's wondering – 'The Hand of Bob' was the first short I'd ever penned and Dave encouraged me to do a rewrite. Just gotta find it now.Regards, bud, and thanks again.Col

  3. Hey, even I got a mention in there too, so thanks Dave.I love to read little tales like these, chaps, and it makes me wonder if there is some hidden power pushing people in the right direction. Maybe it's Tommo (In joke between me and Col, if you were wondering)

  4. P.S. NICE shirt Col. (another in-joke)

  5. Chinwag, bollocks, knickers (wait, that wasn't in there, was it.) ManU? No love for Portsmouth? They're broke!Glad a good time was had by all, and I'll definitely have to check out Col's place.

  6. Mike – I look forward to family do's and we always have a good drink, laugh and chinwag.Col – It was great seeing you. Had to put something in about Man U.Matt – Not that you need it, but have put a link on your name to your blog. Tommo??? And I take it you're a city fan?Randal – Knickers, we were both going 'commando'. Portsmouth are just the start of it. City are next, followed by Chelsea and Man Utd unless the Glazers sell. :-)And yes, a good time was had and too much beer was consumed…

  7. Dave,Tommo was the mutual friend (you referred to above) who introduced Matt n I. He has a lot to answer for! Randal, It will be nice to see you over at my blog – all things crime fiction.For the record – I feel for what's happening at Pompey. And, Dave, it's your lot that are skint – our Sheikh has just invested a cool 1Billion squid on a massive regeneration project beside 'The Blue Camp'… so there!!!!!!

  8. It's fun to see pics of people we blog with come together for a drink. And it looks like my kind of watering hole.

  9. Hey, Matt… just noticed your comment about my shirt! At least it matches my City blue plaster-cast n dunt look like a tea-towel… well, I suppose it does a bit.And BTW, all, Dave is actually quite stumpy n always insists on standing on a soap-box for photos πŸ™‚

  10. Col, whateverrrrr. πŸ™‚ As Lisa says…It's only a game of bloody footbal. David. It's a watering hole that was at the top of theroad from where I used to live and where Col lives. The best of British.Don't listen to Col. I was just closer to the camera. We're both midgets. πŸ˜‰

  11. Good to see you guys together and having a blast. That shirt of Col's… was he off to a line dance?Regards to you both!

  12. Cheers Alan, like I said that photo was August last year but we both had the same clothes on, so we line danced our way round many pints. πŸ˜‰

  13. CJT

    Definitely missed you while you were away and I'm glad that you had a good time… now where's the postcards you promised me?

  14. Nicole, you know these dodgy postal companies. I definately sent them. πŸ˜‰

  15. Thanks for the hat tip. Sounds like you had a good time.

  16. This comment has been removed by the author.

  17. Paul, family gatherings are always great and meeting friends only add to it. You're welcome mate.(Spelling mistakes galore above. Too much red wine.) πŸ™‚

  18. Dave, sounds like you had a great time. Seems a shame so many of you guys live on the other side of the world…looks like a great place for a beer (and maybe a round of bollocks, as well…wait, I mean billiards!!)

  19. Thanks Paul. You'd be more than welcome to join us for a beer as well. Bollocks would be a great name for a game though, wouldn't it?I have friends who emigrated to Adelaide a few years ago. We plan on visiting them in the next couple of years (when my daughtes are a bit older) Anywhere near you?

  20. David, unfortunately, Adelaide is a few states thataway <—— I am on the East Coast (sort of…) but I would be happy to take a few days away from the shop and fly on down and hook up for a beer or two if you ever made it down here. As for the game Bollocks, I think it already exists…it's called Golf hahaha!! (No offense to all golfers, really!!)

  21. Hahahaha!! Paul, you're right mate. That's usually the only word that comes out of my mouth when I TRY to play it. That could be on the cards for a few beers. What do you sell in your shop?Regards mate, David.

  22. Ummm, I sell books…would that be too much of a surprise?? Have either co-owned or fully owned a 2nd hand bookstore for over a decade now. Couldn't think of a better job.As for golf (bollocks), golfers all have a handicap of 1…the game!

  23. Have you watched 'Black Books'? Quality comedy show with Bill Bailey and Dylan Moran.When I got finished from the fire service due to a knackered ankle I really wanted to work in a bookshop but eventually ended up working for myself kanckering myself up even more. Fair play to you mate. I wish my job was easier but there's nothing better than being your own boss.You obviouslt really dislike golf. Scotland's the home of the game and I've been living here for 15 months now and played once. Although a few years ago I played Gleneagles. The scenery alone is stunning and only 7 miles from where I live.Take it easy mate, David.

  24. aw…. that looks like a great pub….!!!! Pubs… this blog needs more photos of pubs!!

Leave a Reply

