What’s Happening…

This is just a short one to let you know I won’t be about much for the next few days.  I’m off back down to Manchester for my dad’s 70th Birthday, to party “mancunian” style.  If I miss some of your posts and don’t leave the usual comments, I will catch up when I am back. (Unless I can grab a few minutes on someone’s laptop while I’m there.)

On the news front.  I got some great news the other day that a short piece of mine has been accepted for the Pill Hill Press.  My piece of flash fiction, A Frozen Winter, has been accepted to appear in their Anthology. 

A Frozen Winter first appeared on Michael J. Solender’s blog, Not From Here, Are You?, so a big thanks to Michael for having me as a guest writer.

Anyway, have a great rest of your week and an excellent weekend and don’t forget…walls have ears, if you talk about me behind my back I will find out.  No, I probably won’t…  ๐Ÿ˜‰

27 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, pill hill press, published

27 responses to “What’s Happening…

  1. Congrats on the Pill Hill piece, well done.Have a great – and safe – trip. See ya on your return!

  2. Thanks Paul. On return I am going to be doing a bit of refurbing and updating links etc. You will be a permanent fixture. I've also listed some other comedy shows on the comments on my previous post.

  3. Congrats on the story, and bring back cake, and peanuts, and while you're at it some chips and dip. Have a good time my friend.

  4. CJT

    I feel like I'm reading something on repeat… Congrats on the story, and just wanted to say pig out on cake and hopefully have some fun…

  5. Congratulations on the publishing news and give your father my best!

  6. Nice work Dave, have they told you which day you are yet?

  7. Thanks guys. No confirmation of day yet. Only sent contract back a day or so ago.

  8. Congrats on the Pill Hill story. I'm in there too! Have a good booze … er, clutural evening at your dad's do.

  9. Thanks, Paul. I'm quite chuffed about the anthology. Many more to come, I hope. Us mancunians don't do culture. We just get pissed and then think we are cultured. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Many congrats David – that's great news. And enjoy the birthday celebrations.Regards.

  11. Thanks Alan. You can't beat a good family gathering.

  12. Congrats, safe trip, and happy birthday wishes to your dad.

  13. David, way to go on the anthology nod and tell your Dad Happy Birthday from us Yanks!

  14. Excellent David. Way to go.

  15. Yeah, sure. Bet you're going to practice your soccer hooliganism, throwing steak and kidney pies at the ref. You can't fool us.

  16. er…you're a Manc?oh dear…I didn't know….and there's me thinking I liked you…;-)4D (from Oldham in LANCASHIRE as opposed to the imaginery Greater Manchester…whatever the fuck that is)…;-)

  17. Randal – You daft twat! Northerners don't throw pies! We eat pies and throw the pie containers!…;-)(You have to be a southerner)

  18. ps…please tell me your eyebrows don't meet in the middle…;-)

  19. Four Dinners, As a Southerner myself I'll try not to take offense at that remark about my friend Randal. We Southerners are a kindly, moonshine drinking, banjo playing, cousin-marrying lot.Well…thats not quite true, not all of us play the banjo. ;P

  20. I'm only away a day and all hell breaks loose. While the cats away…..

  21. Dave, me old mucker… you're a published author now!!! Get in!!!Enjoyed seeing you yesterday, bud.

  22. Congratulations David. I hope that you are enjoying your time with your family.All the best to your Father! :)((Hugs))Laura

  23. Good on your Dad!! I may even make Bangers&Mash in his honor~!! (what's a Banger, anyways/)

  24. congrats on your PHP accept – that is tremendous!

  25. Col, Laura, OKJimm & Michael. Thanks for you well wishes. My dad had a ball of a weekend. I'm very 'chuffed' with the PHP acceptance.Regards, David.

  26. Enjoy your trip! And congrats on you publication!

  27. So I'm alittle late to this party, but woohoo! Congrats on your Pill Hill acceptance. I hope you had fun at your dad's birthday. ๐Ÿ˜‰ What anthology is it in?

Leave a Reply

