A GUEST WRITE AT THE ‘NOT’….

Just to let you know that I have had my first ‘Guest Write’ posted today over at Michael J. Solender’s great site Not From Here, Are You.

My piece, A Frozen Winter, was inspired by the recent bout of bad weather we have had over here. You can’t seem to win in Britain, it’s either too cold in winter or too hot in summer. I think a little perspective is required when people start complaining that they can’t get down the shops, etc. Just think about what people in other parts of the world have to put up with. Haiti for an instance. There are communities over there that have lost everything, not just the fact that they can’t get to the shop to pick up a newspaper! We are, quite simply, a nation of complainers. (Mostly, some of us just get on with things, come rain or shine.)

Right, enough. I hope you enjoy my piece of flash fiction.

I’d just like to take this oportunity to thank Michael, and also to let you know about another site he has a lot to do with. On The Wing is the non fiction arm of Full Of Crow and they are looking for non-fiction writers who have a voice/opinion on all subject matters to submit something. They are both great looking sites and well worth a look.

Thanks again, Michael.

The usual applies, leave a comment if you wish. If not, well don’t………. 😉

10 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, guest write, michael j solender, micro fiction

10 responses to “A GUEST WRITE AT THE ‘NOT’….

  1. Great piece, David. Was it wrong of me that I chuckled when I read the last line?!

  2. Okay I won't. Well maybe. Then again, maybe not. We'll see.

  3. Haha! That was hilarious! I loved it… hahahha…((Hugs))Laura

  4. Thanks peeps. It was written with a 'tongue in cheek' but inspired by the weather and the fact that us Brits have a knack for moaning about everything.Cheers, David.A big thanks to Michael, for posting it on his blog.

  5. Good stuff. I'd offer up a pint, but I don't want us to die on the way to the pub. 😉

  6. Really enjoyed this piece. Hope you don't mind that I've joined your group of followers.

  7. Randal, I walked home from the pub between Christmas and new year (about half a mile) and I was on my mobile. It was minus 8 temp and when I got off the phone I seriously could not bend my fingers. It wouldn't have stopped me holding a pint though!Laurita, thanks for stopping by and you are more than welcome to join the group. 😉

  8. Just read it, mate.I'm wearing a knowing smile!

Leave a Reply

