Favourite Stories……..When We Were Kids!!

I know that this post maybe going against the grain of what I write about, but reading stories at bedtime is -hopefully – when the seed is firmly planted and we carry it on into our later life. They are magical tales of adventure, exploring enchanted forest’s, fairies, gruffalo’s, magical chocolate factories…the list goes on and on and on.

I wasn’t a particularly avid reader as a lad, although I used to draw a lot and recreate scenes from the Universal Horror Films with my action men and an empty cardboard crisp box. My imagination was there but reading was a little bit down the list of things to do. I did read, don’t get me wrong, but only what I needed to, whereas now I read almost anything and everything: from novels to adverts on beer mats. The words catch my eye and I have to read what is there.

It was later that I really got into reading novels, my first ever one being A Season In Hell by Jack Higgins, which, after I had finished reading it thought to myself…”Wow! What am I missing out on here?” From then on I always seemed to have a book in my hand. I particularly enjoyed the early work of Shaun Hutson, James Herbert, Richard Laymon and these seemed to fuel my urges to actually write something myself.

I know that this post has had an autobiographical feel to it but I think what I’m trying to say is that we should all read and we should certainly encourage our children to read. Kids these days spend too much time on their playstations, x-boxes, chat rooms etc, etc. Yes, I know that sounds a bit hypocritical as I sit here writing on my blog, but blogging is actually a chance to write something constructive about your thoughts, feeling, interests and not some mindless way of telling your best mate that you have just got up and been to the toilet, be that on a chat room or a text.

My wife and myself read our two daughter’s a couple of stories every night. We put on the funny voices or change the names of the characters in the stories and include our girls names. They love their stories and we could probably narrate the stories without the books themselves.

I don’t know if many of you will have caught the feature on BBC Radio 2 this past week, but Jeremy Vine had a listeners poll regarding the all time favourite Children’s Favourite Bedtime Story.
The pictures on this post refer to the books that were included in the poll and (It was my favourite as well!) The Gruffalo won. It was read by the author, Julia Donaldson, herself live on air and I had to ‘down tools’ to listen.
I’ll finish with a question. What would your all time favourite bedtime story be? Be it for a child or an adult. I’ll leave it to you to consider….
5 Comments

Filed under david barber, david barber's fiction world, favourite stories

5 responses to “Favourite Stories……..When We Were Kids!!

  1. Rumplestiltskin used to terrify the life out of me, but i absolutely loved it at the same time.I wasn't read to as a child, but my father told stories, generally they were exciting adventures or ghost stories. They've stuck with me to this day.First 'books' I read as a child that I recall were an abridged 'The Lost World' by A Conan Doyle, as well as Burroughs Tarzan books. I think these were what set me off first on a hunt for horror and adventure.I think the only 'crime' books i read back then were The hardy Boys and Nancy Drew mysteries.

  2. Thanks for your comments Matt. I too can't remember being read to as a child,(My Mum n Dad may kick my butt if they read this and they remember otherwise) but I do remember some stories, so… I do remember though my brother and myself telling each other stories through the hollow partition wall that separated our bedrooms in our council house.They were good memories….Thanks again for looking, Matt.

  3. Interesting post, Dave n I couldn't agree more about reading to our kids. It's absolutely integral to their development IMHO.Me – I have fond memories of me mum reading the likes of Chicken Licken and that Caterpillar story the title of which escapes me. Plus Enid Blyton's Famous Five books and then I had all my Soccer annuals, of course.Let's not forget those comics, too: the Dandy & Beano, all the Superhero ones, plus Roy of the Rovers! I grew to love words from an early age and even kept diaries (still have 'em). Good parenting has a lot to answer for and reading really does shape who we become.Regards,Col

  4. Thanks Col. Comics…Totally agree but also the dodgy ones like 'Look-In'. It always had a free gift that was total rubbish, but I used to read it, particularly because it had a series of 'The Incredible Hulk' in it…bizarre!!I have memories of a friend of my dad who used to bring a pile of war comics on a Sunday when they used to go out for their darts and 'Boddingtons' at the 'Queens' and 'The Red Lion' in patricroft. Can't remember the names of the comics but just know I loved them…We don't buy comics for our girls that much but when we do it really seem hard to find one that has a good story in it. I will trawl the shelves next time to see what decent comics are still being made. (Not the top shelves of course)Cheers Col.

  5. Good post David. As a kid, Alfred Hitchcock’s Three Investigators was a big favourite of mine. I also remember The Hardy Boys. Late teens onwards to my early twenties I was hooked on Jack Higgins books – I still think he’s a great thriller writer,

Leave a Reply

